Where the foothills of Mount Nemertsika meet the Aoos river, near its junction with Sarandaporos river, is the monastery of Molyvdoskepasti. The name of the monastery comes from the lead plates that, instead of tiles or stone slabs, used to cover the church.
The monastery, according to tradition, was founded by the emperor Constantine Pogonatos, as he returned from his campaign in Sicily (671–672 AD) and was later renovated by the emperor Andronikos Paleologos (1328– 1341 AD). In the following years it was renovated by residents of Pogoniani village, who painted the church of the Monastery in 1522.
The monastery was the base of the archdiocese of Pogoniani from the 12th to the 17th century. Since the 14th century, there has been a school of manuscripts in which priests taught manuscripts to monks and natives. Many scholars and writers of the time graduated from this school. In July 1943 the monastery was bombed by the Nazis, the cells were burned and the church was looted.
Today’s monastery of Molyvdoskepasti retains its fortified appearance, has renovated cells, two bell towers and a beautiful garden. The church is of Byzantine style, with a high dome and well-preserved hagiographies of the 13th – 18th century, while there are wall-paintings depicting Constantine Pogonatos and Andronikos Paleologos.
Lead slabs were recently re-installed on the roof of the church, so the monastery rightly continues to bear the title “Lead-covered”.